Safeguarding Commission

The diocesan Safeguarding Commission is responsible for ensuring that the national safeguarding procedures for the Catholic Church are implemented. There are twenty Religious Orders aligned to the Commission with a representation from both male and female Orders on the Commission itself. You can see the names and roles of diocesan Safeguarding Commission members below. You can email the Independent Chair here:


Helen Milton
Independent Chair 

Canon Kieron O'Brien
Safeguarding Priest Advisor

Canon Paul Jennings
Judicial Vicar

Fr John Garry
Religious Representative

Elizabeth (Liz) Bedford
Parish Safeguarding Representative

Elizabeth Wakeling
Diocesan Youth Adviser

Laura Maydew-Gale
Diocesan Communications

Katherine Taylor-Birnie
Brighton & Hove

Awaiting appointment

Dilhara Fernando
Lourdes Pilgrimage

Anne Burnage
West Sussex

Sr Helen Doyle
Religious Representative

DS Claire Tidy
Surrey Police

DS Jane Wooderson
Sussex Police