Diocesan Trustees

Bishop Richard Moth

Diocesan Trustee

Richard Moth was born in Zambia in 1958. He was brought up in Kent and trained for the priesthood at St. John’s Seminary, Wonersh. He was ordained Priest on 3rd July 1982 and was installed as the fifth Bishop of Arundel & Brighton on 28th May 2015 at Arundel Cathedral in the presence of the clergy and people of the Diocese.

In addition to his role as Bishop of the Armed Forces, he is Chair of Governors at St. Mary’s University, Twickenham, Liaison Bishop for Prisons and for the National Catholic Scout Fellowship and holds a brief on Mental Health on behalf of the Bishops’ Conference of England and Wales.

Patrick Burgess

Diocesan Trustee

Patrick spent most of his life, after Cambridge as a corporate, trust, and constitutional lawyer in the City of London. He was then asked to take the Chair of one of the larger companies listed on the London Stock Exchange, where he served for nine years.

He is the chair of a number of charities, (including the Friends of Arundel Cathedral), a director of Bosco CET (the Diocesan Multi Academy Trust for Sussex), a member of the Order of the Holy Sepulchre and a long time group leader with HCPT- the Pilgrimage Trust.

Fr Jonathan How

Diocesan Trustee

Fr Jonathan was appointed as Chair of the Diocesan Finance Committee and Trustee in January 2018. He grew up in Burgess Hill, West Sussex and after studies at St John's Seminary, Wonersh was ordained priest in 1993.
Fr Jonathan served as Lecturer at St John's Seminary for 18 years, during which time he taught Philosophy and Liturgy and served as Bursar for 6 years and Director of Studies for 12 years. He was a member of its finance committee and Clerk to the Trustees throughout this time.

He was Parish Priest at Sacred Heart, Cobham from 2016 to 2019, when he was appointed to the parish of Godalming. He has been a Trustee of the Secular Clergy Common Fund ('BigM') since 2003 and Chair of the Diocesan Art & Architecture Committee since 2005. He has experience of working in non-profit organisations outside the church through his roles in the Scout Movement at both County and World level.

Kieran Maloney

Diocesan Trustee

Kieran Maloney was appointed as a Diocesan Trustee in February 2019. He is a practising Chartered Accountant and works as the Financial Controller of a bank. Kieran worships in Esher parish, and has chaired the Parish Finance Committee for many years.

Fr Jonathan Martin

Diocesan Trustee

Father Jonathan was ordained for the Diocese in 1996. He has served in the parishes of Eastbourne, Chichester, Crawley, and Bognor Regis, and is now Parish Priest of the County Town of Lewes.

He is the Bishop's Vicar General and Chancellor, the Defender of the Bond of Marriage on the Diocesan Tribunal, and a member of the Chapter of Arundel Cathedral.

Canon Kieron O'Brien

Diocesan Trustee

Canon Kieron was ordained in 1987 and after serving a short curacy was Private Secretary to Bishop (later Cardinal) Cormac Murphy-O'Connor for four years. He followed this with further studies in Rome, during which time he served as a staff member at the Venerable English College.

Since then Canon Kieron has served as Parish Priest in Crawley, Chichester and East Brighton. He was the clergy safeguarding lead in the Diocese from 2005 until 2015 and was a member of the Cumberlege Commission (2007). Canon Kieron is currently Episcopal Vicar for Formation and has been a Trustee of the Diocese since 2016.

Professor John Lydon

Diocesan Trustee

Professor John Lydon KC*HS SFHEA is the Programme Director for Catholic School Leadership and also the Director of the Catholic Certificate in Religious Studies (CCRS) Programme at St Mary’s University Twickenham.
John gained his PGCE from the University of Liverpool before later gaining his MA in Catholic School Leadership at St Mary's University. John was awarded his PhD by the University of Surrey.

In October 2013, Dr Lydon was awarded a Fellowship of the Higher Education Academy (FHEA), he joined the diocesan Trustees in 2019 and is also a member of the Diocesan Education Committee and a Director of Xavier Catholic Education Trust.

Clare Wordsworth

Diocesan Trustee

Clare was appointed as a Diocesan Trustee in April 2020. She is married and has two grown-up daughters.

Clare spent many years working in Chaplaincy at HMP Send, women’s prison and at the Sam Beare Hospice, Weybridge and is involved in bereavement care and funeral ministry in the Weybridge Deanery. She was the founder and chair of the Nazareth Way Charity at HM Prison Send, supporting community reintegration and offering hardship grants. She is also a member of the Arundel & Brighton Diocesan Spirituality Network.

Clare supported the launch of the Pastoral Plan in 2018 by chairing open meetings for the Bishop to present the plan in each Deanery.

Patrick Bergin

Diocesan Trustee

Patrick is a Chartered Accountant, who has worked across a range of industries. Until leaving in 2019, he spent thirteen years at a large housebuilder, including roles as Chief Financial Officer and Chief Executive.

A member of the Cranleigh & Bramley parish, Patrick is married to Katherine and they have four children.

Jane Bertelsen

Diocesan Trustee
Jane has been a member of the Franciscan Missionaries of the Divine Motherhood (FMDM), an international missionary congregation for over 40 years. She is currently based in Godalming in Surrey.

Prior to her election as Congregational Leader in 2013, Jane served in Australia, the Philippines, England and Scotland and on the Central Leadership Team. Jane was involved in the Formation programme for FMDM in Australia.

Jane has a background in primary and secondary education in New Zealand and Australia. Her first degree was in ecology, she also holds a theology degree and a Diploma of Education. She was a parish pastoral leader for 10 years in Melbourne working in a developing area of the city building a new parish community with a collaborative, inclusive leadership model and a strong emphasis on adult faith formation.

Throughout her time in leadership in Australia, England and Wales she has been involved with Safeguarding in the local Church, especially in the areas of policy development and formation of church members. She served as Vice Chair of the National Catholic Safeguarding Commission (representing Religious Life) from 2007- 2013. She currently serves on the Pontifical Commission for the Protection of Minors.

Alongside her main ministries Jane has worked as a facilitator particularly with religious congregations and parish and diocesan groups.